The City of Bath, U.K – What to do, where to go and what to see

I was very lucky to be recently (the start of September last year, just before our move to Dusseldorf) taken to Bath, U.K for a surprise birthday trip – and as surprises go, this honestly was the best present for me and just so much fun! From wandering the famous Roman Baths to eating tasty food and exploring the stunning cobbled city streets, it was such a good trip, and honestly Bath is quite possibly now my favourite place in the U.K – I plan to make it back there very soon… I’ve added everything we go up to below, but if you have any questions please do feel free to comment below and I’ll try and help as much as I can – Happy exploring!

We spent a whole day wandering the city. There is just so much to see, it’s such a quaint little city, with beautiful views and pretty places to see but also so much to do – I can see why Jane Austen lived here… (The city is also home to the Jane Austen Centre). I would love to go back again in the near future, as one day was not nearly enough time to explore everything, but we certainly made the most of it.

The Roman Baths

Filled with lots of shops, restaurants museums and more, there is so much choice, I can see why it’s such a popular place to live! Being a super foodie we had already decided we wanted to go to Pickled Greens for lunch (once I found out we were going to Bath I had already started researching where we were going to eat!), an independent deli coffee shop in the heart of the city, and of which I’d totally recommend (I don’t have any food photos of my own as I was too hungry to remember to take any – but I’ve included the below I found on instagram for you to enjoy.

There are however, so many amazing restaurants to choose from so I’d say make sure you have a look through Trip Advisor and have a couple of ideas on where you want to go prior to your visit, but equally you might need to book ahead. For example the famous Baths have the renowned, very british afternoon tea restaurant ‘The Pump Room‘, which is always booked way in advance, with limited walk ins available – so something to consider prior to your trip.

Pickled Greens

The weather unfortunately wasn’t the brightest on our particular day, we were lucky didn’t rain (as it was forecast), but nethertheless we walked everywhere (I like to try and get my steps in where I can) – the city is pretty compact, and although I would say we no doubt racked up some miles walking everywhere, you could also easily get around without needing to use any public transport. However, if you were looking to visit with transport the Hop-on-Hop-off bus sightseeing tour would be perfect for you. In terms of sightseeing, the river view is a must see with Pulteney Bridge crossing the river Avon.

Pulteney Bridge

You should also have Bath Abbey on your list – if you’re like us and time is precious, even viewing from outside was perfect. The Royal Crescent, another must see sight, and the most amazing georgian architecture you may see – Personally I found it was lovely to sit in the park opposite and take it all in. It’s worth noting it’s around a 10 to 15 minute walk here from the centre of town. You can also explore inside one of the houses at the No.1 Royal Crescent museum (we unfortunately didn’t have time, but I’ve read its interesting to step into the past at one of England’s finest Georgian townhouses) – How the other half live!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is fullsizerender-8.jpeg
The Royal Crescent

Another must see is The Roman Baths – Having heard so much about the baths, It had been on my bucket list a while, so I was pretty excited to finally visit. I went to Rome (you can read my blog on all things Rome, here) a year or so ago, so fairly recent but it amazed me how alike the architecture was – and the history of the baths is fascinating… If you like that kind of thing ☺. You can even try the water… which I’m going to be honest didn’t taste great, but it’s all about the experience, right?

It’s definitely a must see if you’re visiting Somerset! I’d really recommend you book online as you can save 10% on tickets when booking in advance – which is quite alot as the tickets are not cheap, especially if there are a few of you going… They do however, include an audioguide which was so useful (and available in 12 languages!) – filled with snippets of factual information it was also super easy to use.

The Roman Baths

Related: What to do in Somerset – The Cider, cheese and glamping county in the British countryside >


Bloomandwild.com – £10 off a beautiful bouquet of letterbox flowers

Being an expat, In the past year or so, I have unfortunately managed to miss a fair few of my friends and family’s celebrations, and now with corona bringing a halt to a fair few travel plans, it’s meant I’ve had to look to other means of present giving (I’m sure I’ve been not alone… Continue reading Bloomandwild.com – £10 off a beautiful bouquet of letterbox flowers

10 small changes you can make to help combat Climate Change in 2020

It’s 2020 and we’re in the midst of the Covid-19 pandemic, with social distancing and staying at home very much the normality. Because of this, travel has largely reduced and initial reports have shown large cities and countries have drastically reduced their carbon emissions – which I think we can all agree is a very… Continue reading 10 small changes you can make to help combat Climate Change in 2020

A weekend in Maastricht: All the sights and best places to explore

Maastricht is located close-by to the Netherlands, German border and with it only being an hours drive from our home city, Dusseldorf – It was the perfect weekend get away for us! The capital and largest city of the province of Limburg, Maastricht is one of the oldest cities in the Netherlands and is well-known… Continue reading A weekend in Maastricht: All the sights and best places to explore

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.